Cum Laude Society Inductions

Randolph's chapter of the Cum Laude Society, the most prestigious secondary academic honor society, inducted 18 students on April 3 in a Thurber Arts Center ceremony.
Current members inducted last year as juniors are Nick Bonaker, Barrett Butler, Evan Gross, Eashaa Jampala, Katie Kessler, Grace LaFrentz, Liddy Malone, Neelesh Manandhar, and Rachel Rezabek.
Newly-named to the Society were seniors Emily Brown, Joanna Broyles, Deanna Dailey, Lilly Fritz, Nina Grigorian, Coner McFarlin, Roshni Patnayakuni, and Charlotte Tauss. Inducted from the current junior class were Tanuj Alapati, Esper Chao, Matthew Estopinal, Tristen Hunnewell, Sanjna Jain, Mahip Kalra, Spencer Laue, Katie Nordeman, Eve Schoenrock, and Emma Snyder. Faculty member Deborah Ormond was also inducted.

The guest speaker was Upper School faculty member David Hillinck.
Founded in 1906, the Cum Laude Society is dedicated to honoring scholastic achievement in secondary schools. The founders of the Society modeled it after the collegiate Phi Beta Kappa, and in the years since its founding, Cum Laude has grown to more than 380 chapters, two dozen of which are located in public schools and the rest in independent schools in the United States, the Philippines, Puerto Rico, Canada, England, France and Spain. The mission statement of the Society explains that it recognizes academic achievement in secondary schools for the purpose of promoting excellence, justice, and honor.

To become eligible for selection, a student must demonstrate a consistently high level of academic achievement from the beginning of the 9th grade, typically at the Dean's List level. An eligible student musthave selected a most demanding academic schedule, typically including Honors and Advanced Placement classes. Once eligible, the chapter elects only students who have also demonstrated good character, honor, and integrity in all aspects of their school life.