As an independent school, Randolph is governed by a Board of Trustees whose members serve the School on a voluntary basis.


  • assuring the relevance and fulfillment of the School’s mission
  • hiring, supporting and evaluating the Head of School
  • securing the financial sustainability of the School
The Board is responsible for the Head of School, and its primary work is long-term and strategic. The Head of School, in partnership with School administration, is responsible for the day-to-day operation and management.
Board members are elected by current trustees to serve three-year terms and may be reelected to a second consecutive three-year term. There are six regularly scheduled Board meetings each school year. The Board selects officers who, with the Head of School and chairs of Board standing committees, comprise its Executive Committee.

In addition, Board members lead and serve on five sub-committees:

Committee on Trustees
Determines and evaluates the composition of the Board and its leadership, takes responsibility for policy and by-laws, and leads the on-going effort to support the growth and development of the Board and its individual members.
In concert with staff, develops the long-range financial plan and yearly operational budget of the School, and oversees investments, audits, and financial policies.
Operations Committee
Oversees the maintenance and operations of facilities and grounds, campus construction, technology infrastructure, transportation and food service.
Strategic Planning Committee
Works in concert with the Head of School to develop and support the strategic planning efforts of the School, to ensure that strategic goals support its mission from an educational, fiscal, and operational perspective.
Advancement Committee
Designs and oversees all fund-raising activities, both long-range and annual, and oversees the advancement of the School into the broader community.

Principles of Good Practice

NAIS, the National Association of Independent Schools, of which Randolph is a member, publishes these Principles of Good Practice for a school's Board of Trustees.

2017-2018 Board of Trustees

Brian Pollock, Chair
Marshall Schreeder, Jr. '96, Vice-Chair
Leslie Cooper, Secretary
Tharon Honeycutt, Treasurer

Ana Byrne
Jay Chandler
Celeste Childs
Melissa Dodgen
Julie Gold
Rudy Hornsby
Pam Hudson
Raymond Jones, Jr.
David Lucas
Laurence McCrary '88
Foster McDonald
Scott Moore
Melanie Murray
Jean Penney
Allen Perkins
Smitha Persaud '94
Moore Rhett III '70
Bob Thurber
Trustee Emeritus
Margaret Henson, Founder
Larry Landman, Lifetime